Chocolate Brownies- a family favourite!

My first recipe!  As the blog name would suggest, I am a keen baker, although I find myself being drawn more and more to savoury food and the joys of watching stews, casseroles and soups bubble away endlessly.

However, whilst wondering what was going to be the first recipe I posted up on here, I was awaken from my day dreaming around the supermarket by my partner and daughter both demanding chocolate, so with that the choice was made – Chocolate Brownies!

Everybody loves a brownie, to me they have to be just set with a slightly dense texture.  To others they have to be oozy and eaten warm.  The joy of this recipe, that is by far the best recipe I have ever baked, is that it is capable of being cooked and eaten in whichever way you want- so long as you eat lots of them!

Now, I can’t profess that the recipe is mine.  It belongs to the Australian Goddess that is Donna Hay.  She burst into my life as a guest chef on Masterchef Australia, and since then, I have been hooked on her sultry ways and her fabulous recipes- and this one is right up there.

If you feel inspired to cook these, then please send me photos of your results and your findings, and of course with all cooking, feel free to jazz it up a bit with Cointreau, cranberry’s or even more chocolate- go mad!  Recipes are just a starting point.

Ingredients:

200g Dark Chocolate (chopped)

250g Butter (chopped)

310g Light Dark Brown Sugar

180g Plain Flour

35g Cocoa Powder

4 Eggs

1/4 Teaspoon Baking Powder

Method:

  1. Melt the butter and chocolate together over a medium low heat.
  2. Mix all ingredients together
  3. Cook in a 20cm Square tin lined with greaseproof paper for 50 mins (roughly)
  4. Eat lots of lovely brownies!
Leave a Reply

